We know that you have to be careful about the foods that you and your family eat. That’s why we have tried to answer many of your most commonly asked questions here. We’ve done our best to anticipate your questions, but if you don’t find the information that you need please feel free to contact us.
Q: Why are my SunButter® Crunch Bars green / appear moldy on the inside when they are still within their expiration date?
A: A few SunButter® Crunch Baked Chewy Bars will develop a greenish hue on the inside of the bar. Baked goods made with sunflower seed butter may turn green. This is a natural phenomenon which occurs because of the chlorophyll in sunflowers and sunflower seeds. If the pH level of the product goes above a 6-7, the chlorophyll reacts and turns the product green. Cookies and other items that tend to use baking soda or baking powder in the formulation will tend to see a higher pH level which exacerbates the greening process. At first, the green can hardly be noticed, but after a few weeks the chemical reaction between the pH level and the chlorophyll is more complete and the green color could appear. We believe the levels of chlorophyll could be affected by seasonal conditions which is why the bars don't turn green all the time.
Due to the resemblance of the green color to mold, it is misconstrued to be mold. But we have confirmed by testing that it is not mold and it does not affect the safety or taste of the SunButter® Crunch Baked Chewy Bars. If the product is within the Best By Date, the product is still safe to consume.
Q: Are your foods really nut-free?
A: Yes! Our foods are completely free of nuts. No peanuts or tree nuts enter our dedicated production facility. For extra security, we perform peanut rapid tests to ensure the highest levels of safety and quality.
Q: Are your foods dairy-free?
A: Absolutely. All of our products are dairy-free, including dairy sugars (lactose) and dairy protein (casein), so people with lactose or casein allergies/intolerances can eat freely! Our chocolate chips and chunks are produced in a dedicated gluten-free and nut-free facility. These chips are also dairy-free and soy-free. While they are produced in a plant that processes dairy, the chips and chunks are produced on a dedicated line, in a dedicated room, to ensure that there is no chance for dairy cross-contamination. We test down to 2.5 parts per million for dairy to ensure the highest levels of safety and quality.
Q: Are your foods lactose-free?
A: Yes, all of our products are lactose-free, meaning that they don't contain any dairy sugars (lactose). By the way, they are also casein-free, meaning that they don't contain any dairy proteins either.
Q: Are your foods casein-free?
A: Yes, all of our products are casein-free. You can rest easy knowing that all our ingredients are additionally tested for casein, so we can be certain that our products are truly free of all dairy sugars. They are also gluten-free, so Enjoy Life foods are suitable for a GFCF diet too.
Q: Where can I buy your products?
A: Our products are available nationally in both the US and Canada! If you're having trouble finding our products once you're in the store, be sure to check the gluten-free or natural sections! Click here for our easy store locator: http://enjoylifefoods.com/where_to_buy/store_locator.php
Q: I live in Canada, where can I find your products?
A: Enjoy Life products are sold in natural food stores and grocery stores throughout Canada. We know that our neighbors to the north want to "enjoy life" too and we're adding new stores every day. For a complete listing of Canadian stores carrying our products, visit the store locator area of our site.
Q: Are your products corn free?
A: Enjoy Life products do not claim to be corn-free. Having said that, we want Enjoy Life customers to have as much information as possible regarding our ingredients. The powdered evaporated cane juice in 2 of our Boom Choco Boom bars (Dairy-Free Rice Milk Bar and Dairy-Free Rice Milk with Crispy Rice Bar) contain less than 1% corn starch as a processing aid. This product is labeled “may contain traces of corn.”
Natural flavors are often derived from corn alcohol. Three of our natural flavors: vanilla, caramel and berry are derived from corn alcohol. Our supplier guarantees all corn protein is removed in the distillation process and considers them to be corn-free. Also, although the citric acid in our Very Berry Crunch Granola is derived from corn, the fermentation process removes the corn protein. We always encourage people to make a choice based on their own comfort level with these ingredients.
Q: Are all of your products made in a dedicated nut-free facility?
A: Absolutely! We wouldn't have it any other way!
Q: Are all of your products made in a dedicated gluten-free facility?
A: All of our products, with the exception of Crunchy Rice and Crunchy Flax, are made in a dedicated gluten-free facility. Crunchy Rice and Crunchy Flax cereals are made in a certified gluten-free facility. The facility is certified by the Gluten Free Certification Organization. (www.gfco.org)
Q: Are all of your products made in a dedicated dairy-free facility?
A: All of our products, with the exception of our Semi-Sweet Chocolate Mini Chips and Mega Chunks, and all 4 varieties of Plentils, are made in a dedicated dairy-free facility. Our chocolate chips and chunks are produced in a facility that also processes dairy; however, our chocolate chips are produced on a dedicated dairy-free line. All ingredients are additionally tested to ensure strict allergen control standards are met.
Q: Why did you change the "allergen free" symbol on your packages?
A: We changed the allergen free symbol on our package to make it more explicit and to minimize the risk of any potential confusion on the part of our consumers. The old symbol read "allergen free: free of all common allergens", while the new logo reads "allergy friendly: free of the 8 most common allergens." We hope that this change in verbiage will make it even clearer to consumers that our products are free of "the big 8" allergens. Of course, we always direct people to read the side panel and ingredient statement thoroughly, to determine for themselves which products they can and cannot eat.
Q: Are Enjoy Life products wheat-free or gluten-free?
A: Both! Our foods are made without wheat or any other source of gluten (i.e., barley and rye). We have created a dedicated gluten-free facility where we bake all our own goodies. We require all ingredient suppliers to fill out non-contamination certificates, and we perform routine gluten rapid tests for extra assurance.